Portrait #6,7,8 Karen Minshall,Abi Brewster, and Rachael Haigh

My name is Karen
I was diagnosed with ms …. 8 years ago . To all intense and purpose to look at me I have  nothing wrong with me !!
I have worked full time managed a home and family ever since and been an all round superhero in my head!!
Over the last two years my life has changed dramatically in terms of husband home and job ! I read my awkward bitch and realised a lot
• it’s my bitch no one else’s
• the people that are around me that accept me for who I am are precious
• I am getting better at being me !
My children have been my rocks and supported me in anything and everything I choose to do.
I know they worry about me but I worry about them too and I love them them so much .

Abi – my mum was diagnosed with MS whilst I was at senior school, at this time neither me or my sister and probably mum too knew what is was or what it meant. Although the future was scary we got through it a step at a time together. It always amazes me how my mum fought, and still fights to have her life remain as near as it was and she greatly succeeds. Something which amazes me more is how she ensured that it did not affect mine or my sisters lives and ensured that we all stuck together and now we have the power to battle anything!!

Rachael – my mum was diagnosed several years ago with ms.  It is something that to this day continues to shock and annoy our family but the diagnosis is not something that any of us allow to be in control.  My mum manages things better than anyone I know and never moans about any symptoms at all,  even when we know she should.  I now have a child of my own so she is a gran-gran to my very active toddler. He absolutely worships her and despite not always being able to do everything she would maybe want to with him he never has any idea. 

Ms is so unpredictable that we don’t know what’s round the corner but is not something that any of us let have any control. We are strong and if ms tries to take over we will fight it. Some things are more important. This trio shows how important it is to have a strong family/friend support system behind you as you figure out what part MS is going to play in your life. I hope you enjoy

 

Jennifer: This is acrylic on watercolor paper and is 11×20, I went classic for this mother daughter trio. I hope you enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

